Women’s U21 Lacrosse Championship

Welcome From the European Lacrosse Federation

On behalf of the European Lacrosse Federation and all our members it is my pleasure to welcome you to the 2023 Women’s Under 21 European Championship being held in Prague, Czech Republic.

The competition this year will the second U20 event, extended to U21 with the delays caused by the pandemic. The first, held in Katowice, Poland in August 2018 featured six teams. This time it is nearly doubled with eleven teams and a warm welcome is extended to newcomers Ireland, Italy, Scotland, Spain and Sweden.

The ELF would like to thank our hosts, event sponsors, and the many volunteers for hosting this event. The Czech Republic has a long history of hosting many European Championships, two World Championships and many international club based tournaments. The very first European Championship (Men’s Seniors) was held in the Czech Republic in 1995 at the same time as the ELF was established.

It is also appropriate to welcome and congratulate all the athletes, coaches, managers and team staff on being selected to represent their country and participate in the Championship.

Our considerable appreciation is also due to all the Umpires and Officials who will officiating the games, without them there would be no event. Thanks are also due to the World Lacrosse Officials who will be assisting the match officials in their progress to higher ratings.

Also a welcome and a thank you to all family members, friends and supporters who have travelled to be present at the Championship to support not only their team but lacrosse.

I wish everybody an exciting and enjoyable European Championship.

Kindest Regards

Ron Balls


The City of Prague supports the championship

We are delighted to announce that the Mayor of Prague, doc. MUDr. Bohuslav Svoboda, CSc., has graciously extended his patronage to the prestigious event “European Junior Women’s Lacrosse Championship 2023.” Additionally, we are thrilled to share that the Deputy Mayor of Prague 3 district, Pavel Dobeš, has also provided his auspices for the event. Their support adds immense value and prestige to this remarkable championship.














A Brief History of the European Lacrosse Championships


In 1995 the European Lacrosse Federation (ELF) was inaugurated.

The countries that founded the original ELF were the Czech Republic, England, Germany, Scotland, Sweden and Wales. Today, there are 33 countries in Europe that have established or are in the process of developing a national lacrosse program. Many of these nations are also members of the World Lacrosse (former Federation of International Lacrosse) which was established in 2008 through the merger of the previously separate men’s and women’s international lacrosse associations. Currently there are 60+ countries with national lacrosse programs worldwide and that number is growing year by year.

To encourage the growth of lacrosse in younger age groups, the ELF recently established the Championships for the under 21 (U21) age groups, to give junior players a chance to experience a competition of this magnitude prior to moving on to the senior level. The first U20 Women’s European Championship was held in Katowice, Poland in August 2018. The participating countries were the Czech Republic, England, Germany, Israel, Poland, and Wales. Strangely enough, history repeated itself with team England finishing in first and the Czechs placing second once again.

This year will mark the second ever European Lacrosse Championship for U21 Women’s.

The Championship will take place in Prague, Czech Republic starting at the beginning of July. The competing nations for this Women’s U21 Championship are set to be the Czech Republic, England, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Israel, Poland, Sweden, Scotland, Spain and Wales.